and entities of any description; enhanced co-ordination of member states' foreign and foreign economic policies; enhanced functional co-operation.

At its 20th Meeting in July 1999 the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community approved for signature the agreement establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice. They mandated the establishment of a Preparatory Committee comprising the Attorneys General of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago assisted by other officials, to develop and implement a programme of public education within the Caribbean Community and to make appropriate arrangements for the inauguration of the Caribbean Court of Justice prior to the establishment of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy. To this end at its 23rd Meeting in July 2002 the Heads of Government agreed on immediate measures to inaugurate the Court by the second half of 2003, although delays meant it was not inaugurated until April 2005. Among the measures adopted was the establishment of a Trust Fund with a one-time settlement of US\$100m. to finance the Court. The President of the Caribbean Development Bank was authorized to raise the funds on international capital markets, so that member states could access these funds to meet their assessed contributions towards the financing of the Court. The agreement establishing the Regional Justice Protection Programme was also approved for signature.

Structure. The Conference of Heads of Government is the principal organ of the Community, and its primary responsibility is to determine and provide the policy direction for the Community. It is the final authority on behalf of the Community for the conclusion of treaties and for entering into relationships between the Community and international organizations and States. It is responsible for financial arrangements to meet the expenses of the Community.

The Community Council of Ministers is the second highest organ of the Community and consists of Ministers of Government responsible for Community Affairs. The Community Council has primary responsibility for the development of Community strategic planning and co-ordination in the areas of economic integration, functional co-operation and external relations.

The Secretariat is the principal administrative organ of the Community. The Secretary-General is appointed by the Conference (on the recommendation of the Community Council) for a term not exceeding five years, and may be reappointed. The Secretary-General is the Chief Executive Officer of the Community and acts in that capacity at all meetings of the Community Organs.

Associate Institutions. Caribbean Development Bank (CDB); University of Guyana (UG); University of the West Indies (UWI); Caribbean Law Institute (CLI)/ Caribbean Law Institute Centre (CLIC); Secretariat of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Official language: English.
Headquarters: Bank of Guyana Building, PO Box 10827,
Georgetown, Guyana.
Website: http://www.caricom.org
Secretary-General: Edwin W. Carrington (Trinidad and Tobago).

Publications. CARICOM Perspective (annual); Annual Report; Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community; Caribbean Trade and Investment Report 2005.

Further Reading

Parry, J. H., et al. A Short History of the West Indies. Rev. ed. London, 1987

Caribbean Development Bank (CDB)

Established in 1969 by 16 regional and two non-regional members. Membership is open to all states and territories of the region and to non-regional states which are members of the UN or its Specialized Agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Members—regional countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands. Other regional countries: Colombia, Mexico, Venezuela. Nonregional countries: Canada, China, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom.

Function. To contribute to the economic growth and development of the member countries of the Caribbean and promote economic co-operation and integration among them, with particular regard to the needs of the less developed countries.

Headquarters: PO Box 408, Wildey, St Michael, Barbados. Website: http://www.caribank.org email: info@caribank.org
President: Dr Compton Bourne (Guyana).

Publications. Annual Report; Basic Information; Caribbean Development Bank: Its Purpose, Role and Functions; Summary of Proceedings of Annual Meetings of Board of Governors; Statements by the President; Financial Policies; Guidelines for Procurement; Procedures for the Selection and Engagement of Consultants by Recipients of CDB Financing; Special Development Fund Rules; Sector Policy Papers; CDB News (newsletter).

Central American Bank for Economic Integration (CABEI)

Established in 1960, the Bank is the financial institution created by the Central American Economic Integration Treaty and aims to implement the economic integration and balanced economic growth of the member states.

Members. (Regional) Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua. (Non-regional) Argentina, China, Colombia, Mexico, Spain.

Official languages: Spanish, English.
Headquarters: Apartado Postal 772, Tegucigalpa, DC,
Honduras.
Website: http://www.bcie.org
President: Dr Harry Brautigam (Nicaragua).

Central American Common Market (CACM)

In Dec. 1960 El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua concluded the General Treaty on Central American Economic Integration under the auspices of the Organization of Central American States (ODECA) in Managua. Long-standing political and social conflicts in the area have repeatedly dogged efforts to establish integration towards the establishment of a common market.