Community and acts in that capacity at all meetings of the Community Organs.

Associate Institutions. Caribbean Development Bank (CDB); University of Guyana (UG); University of the West Indies (UWI); Caribbean Law Institute (CLI)/Caribbean Law Institute Centre (CLIC); Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States.

Official language: English.

Headquarters: Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat,

Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, Guyana.

Website: http://www.caricom.org

Secretary-General: Irwin LaRocque (Dominica).

Further Reading

Payne, Anthony, The Political History of CARICOM. 2007

Caribbean Development Bank (CDB)

Established in 1969 by 16 regional and two non-regional members. Membership is open to all states and territories of the region and to non-regional states that are members of the UN or its Specialized Agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Members—regional countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands. Other regional countries: Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Venezuela. Non-regional countries: Canada, China, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom.

Function. To contribute to the economic growth and development of the member countries of the Caribbean and promote economic co-operation and integration among them, with particular regard to the needs of the less developed countries.

Headquarters: PO Box 408, Wildey, St Michael, Barbados,

WI BB11000.

Website: http://www.caribank.org

Email: info@caribank.org

President: William Warren Smith (Jamaica).

Central American Bank for Economic Integration (CABEI)

Established in 1960, the Bank is the financial institution created by the Central American Economic Integration Treaty and aims to implement the economic integration and balanced economic growth of the member states.

Regional members. Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua.

Non-regional members. Argentina, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Panama, Spain, Taiwan.

Official languages: Spanish and English.

Headquarters: Apartado Postal 772, Tegucigalpa, DC, Honduras.

Website: http://www.bcie.org

President: Dr Nick Rischbieth (Honduras).

Central American Integration System (SICA)

The Central American Integration System (SICA) was established in Dec. 1991 and became operational in Feb. 1993. SICA is the successor body to the Organization of Central American States, which was suspended in 1973 after a war between El Salvador and Honduras (which were both member countries). It aims to achieve political, economic, social, cultural and ecological integration in Central America and transform the area into a region of peace, liberty, democracy and development.

Members. Belize, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

Activities. The Framework Treaty on Democratic Security in Central America, signed in 1995, seeks to achieve a proper 'balance of forces' in the region, intensify the fight against trafficking of drugs and arms, and reintegrate refugees and displaced persons.

Headquarters: Final Bulevar Cancillería, Distrito El Espino, Ciudad Merliot, Antiguo Cuscatlán, La Libertad, El Salvador. Website: http://www.sica.int

Secretary-General: Victoria Marina Velásquez de Avilés (El Salvador).

Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB)

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank was established in 1983, replacing the East Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA). Its purpose is to regulate the availability of money and credit; to promote and maintain monetary stability; to promote credit and exchange conditions and a sound financial structure conducive to the balanced growth and development of the economies of the territories of the participating governments; and to actively promote, through means consistent with its other objectives, the economic development of the territories of the participating governments.

Members. Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Official language: English.

Headquarters: PO Box 89, Bird Rock, Basseterre, St Kitts and

Nevis

Website: http://www.eccb-centralbank.org Email: info@eccb-centralbank.org Governor: Timothy Antoine (Grenada).

Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

The IDB, the oldest and largest regional multilateral development institution, was established in 1959 to help accelerate economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The Bank's original membership included 19 Latin American and Caribbean countries and the USA. Today, membership totals 48 nations, including non-regional members.

Members. Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica,