Institute (LLPI), as well as a cross-border insurance scheme, the COMESA Yellow Card.

Official languages: English, French and Portuguese. Headquarters: COMESA Secretariat, COMESA Centre, Ben Bella Road, PO Box 30051, 10101 Lusaka, Zambia.

Website: http://www.comesa.int

Secretary General: Sindiso Ngwenya (Zimbabwe).

Members. Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe.

Headquarters: BP 2112, Libreville, Gabon. Website (French only): http://www.ceeac-eccas.org President: Ali Bongo Ondimba (Gabon). Secretary General: Ahmad Allam-Mi (Chad).

East African Community (EAC)

The East African Community (EAC) was formally established on 30 Nov. 1999 with the signing in Arusha, Tanzania of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Treaty envisaged the establishment of a Customs Union, as the entry point of the Community, a Common Market, subsequently a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States. In Nov. 2003 the EAC partner states signed a Protocol on the Establishment of the East African Customs Union, which came into force on 1 Jan. 2005. The Common Market came into force on 1 July 2010. There are plans to introduce a single currency in EAC member countries by 2024.

Members. Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.

Headquarters: Arusha International Conference Centre, 5th Floor, Kilimanjaro Wing, PO Box 1096, Arusha, Tanzania. Website: http://www.eac.int

Secretary General: Liberat Mfumukeko (Burundi).

East African Development Bank (EADB)

Established originally under the Treaty for East African Cooperation in 1967 with Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda as signatories, a new Charter for the Bank (with the same signatories) came into force in 1980. Rwanda was admitted as a member in 2008. Under the original Treaty the Bank was confined to the provision of financial and technical assistance for the promotion of industrial development in member states but with the new Charter its remit was broadened to include involvement in agriculture, forestry, tourism, transport and the development of infrastructure, with preference for projects which promote regional co-operation.

Official language: English.

Headquarters: 4 Nile Ave., PO Box 7128, Kampala, Uganda.

Website: http://www.eadb.org

Director General: Vivienne Yeda (Kenya).

Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC)

The Economic Community of Central African States (Communauté Economique des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale) was established in 1983 to promote regional economic co-operation and to establish a Central African Common Market. There are plans for both a common market and a single currency.

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Founded in 1975 as a regional common market, ECOWAS later also became a political forum involved in the promotion of a democratic environment and the pursuit of fundamental human rights. In July 1993 it revised its treaty to assume responsibility for the regulation of regional armed conflicts, acknowledging the inextricable link between development and peace and security. Thus it now has a new role in conflict management and prevention through its Mediation and Security Council, which monitors the moratorium on the export, import and manufacture of light weapons and ammunition. However, it still retains a military arm, the Economic Community of West African States Monitoring Group (generally known as ECOMOG). It is also involved in the war against drug abuse and illicit drug trafficking. There are plans to introduce a single currency, the *eco*, in ECOWAS member countries in 2020.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Organization. The institutions of ECOWAS are: the Commission, the Community Parliament, the Community Court of Justice and the ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development.

Official languages: English, French and Portuguese.

Headquarters: 101 Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro, Abuja,

Nigeria.

Website: http://www.ecowas.int

Email: info@ecowas.int

ECOWAS Commission President: Marcel Alain de Souza (Benin).

Further Reading

Jaye, Thomas, Garuba, Dauda and Amadi, Stella, (eds.) ECOWAS and the Dynamics of Conflict and Peace-building. 2011

Intergovernmental Authority on Development

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development was created on 21 March 1996 and has its origins in the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development, which had been established in 1986. It has three priority areas of co-operation: conflict prevention, management and humanitarian affairs; infrastructure development; food security and environment protection.

Members. Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda.

Headquarters: Ave. Georges Clemenceau, PO Box 2653,

Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti.

Website: http://igad.int

Executive Secretary: Mahboub Maalim (Kenya).