Members. Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observers. Austria, Belarus, Black Sea Commission, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Energy Charter Secretariat, European Commission, France, Germany, International Black Sea Club, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia, USA.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation is the BSEC parliamentary dimension. The BSEC Business Council is composed of representatives from the business circles of the member states. The Black Sea Trade and Development Bank is considered as the financial pillar of the BSEC. There is also an International Center for Black Sea Studies and a Coordination Center for the Exchange of Statistical Data and Economic Information.

Headquarters: Sakıp Sabancı Caddesi, Müşir Fuad Paşa Yalısı, Eski Tersane 34467, İstanbul, Turkey. Website: http://www.bsec-organization.org Email: info@bsec-organization.org Secretary-General: Michael B. Christides (Greece).

Danube Commission

History and Membership. The Danube Commission was constituted in 1949 according to the Convention regarding the regime of navigation on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 Aug. 1948. The Belgrade Convention, amended by the Additional Protocol of 26 March 1998, declares that navigation on the Danube from Kelheim to the Black Sea (with access to the sea through the Sulina arm and the Sulina Canal) is equally free and open to the nationals, merchant shipping and merchandise of all states as to harbour and navigation fees as well as conditions of merchant navigation. The Commission holds annual sessions and is composed of one representative from each of its 11 member countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia and Ukraine.

Functions. To ensure that the provisions of the Belgrade Convention are carried out; to establish a uniform buoying system on all navigable waterways; to establish the basic regulations for navigation on the river and ensure facilities for shipping; to coordinate the regulations for river, customs and sanitation control as well as the hydrometeorological service; to collect relevant statistical data concerning navigation on the Danube; to propose measures for the prevention of pollution of the Danube caused by navigation; and to update its recommendations regularly with a view to bringing them in line with European Union regulations on inland waterway navigation.

Official languages: German, French and Russian. Headquarters: Benczúr utca 25, 1068 Budapest, Hungary. Website: http://www.danubecommission.org Email: secretariat@danubecom-intern.org President: Rade Drobac (Serbia). Director-General: Petar Margić (Croatia).

European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)

Established in 1973, the ETUC is recognized by the EU, the Council of Europe and EFTA as the only representative

cross-sectoral trade union organization at a European level. It has grown steadily with a membership of 88 National Trade Union Confederations from 37 countries and ten European Industry Federations with a total of 60m. members. The Congress meets every four years; the 13th Statutory Congress took place in Paris in Sept.–Oct. 2015.

Address: 5 Blvd Roi Albert II, B-1210 Brussels, Belgium. Website: http://www.etuc.org Email: etuc@etuc.org General Secretary: Luca Visentini (Italy).

Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

The Alliance of Small Island States was established in 1990 by a coalition of small island and low-lying coastal nations. It seeks to co-ordinate members' lobbying efforts within the United Nations system in relation to the environmental and developmental challenges facing them—especially the adverse effects of climate change.

Organization. The AOSIS has no formal charter or permanent secretariat. However, there is a Bureau, made up of the chairperson and two vice-chairs, appointed from the UN Permanent Representatives of countries from each of the organization's three regional groupings (the Caribbean; the Pacific; and Africa, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean and South China Sea).

Members. As of Feb. 2017 AOSIS comprised 37 nation states (plus the New Zealand dependencies of the Cook Islands and Niue): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Federated States of Micronesia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kiribati, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Singapore, Seychelles, São Tomé and Príncipe, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. A further five nonsovereign territories have observer status.

Website: http://aosis.org Chairperson: Ahmed Sareer (Maldives).

Amnesty International (AI)

Origin. Founded in 1961 by British lawyer Peter Benenson as a one-year campaign for the release of prisoners of conscience, Amnesty International has grown to become a worldwide organization, winning the Nobel Peace Prize in 1977.

Activities. AI is a worldwide movement of people campaigning for human rights. It acts independently and impartially to promote respect for internationally recognized human rights standards.

Historically, the focus of AI's campaigning has been: to free all prisoners of conscience (a term coined by Peter Benenson); to ensure a prompt and fair trial for all political prisoners; to abolish the death penalty, torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading punishments; to end extrajudicial executions and 'disappearances'; to fight impunity by working to ensure perpetrators of such abuses are brought to justice. AI is independent of any government or political ideology, and neither supports nor opposes the views of the victim it seeks to protect.