the Fifth in Almaty in May 1999, the Sixth in Tehran in 2000, the Seventh in İstanbul in 2002, the Eighth in Dushanbe in 2004, the Ninth in Baku in 2006, the Tenth in Tehran in 2009 and the Eleventh in İstanbul in 2010.

The long-term perspectives and priorities of ECO are defined in the form of two Action Plans: the Quetta Plan of Action and the İstanbul Declaration and Economic Co-operation Strategy.

ECO enjoys observer status with the United Nations, World Trade Organization and the Organization of Islamic Conference.

Headquarters: 1 Goulbou Alley, Kamranieh, PO Box 14155-6176, Tehran, Islamic Republic of Iran.

Website: http://www.ecosecretariat.org

Email: Registry@ECOsecretariat.org

Secretary-General: Mohammed Yahya Maroofi (Afghanistan).

Pacific Islands Forum (PIF)

In Oct. 2000 the South Pacific Forum changed its name to the Pacific Islands Forum. As the South Pacific Forum it held its first meeting of Heads of Government in New Zealand in 1971. The Agreement Establishing the Forum Secretariat defines the membership of the Forum and the Secretariat. Decisions are reached by consensus. The administrative arm of the Forum, known officially as the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, is based in Suva, Fiji Islands. In Oct. 1994 the Forum was granted observer status to the UN.

Members. Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji Islands*, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Associate Members. French Polynesia, New Caledonia. Observers. Asian Development Bank, the Commonwealth, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, Wallis and Futuna, the World Bank. *Membership suspended since May 2009 after calls for fresh elections by a set date were ignored.

Functions. The Secretariat's mission is to provide policy options to the Pacific Islands Forum, and to promote Forum decisions and regional and international co-operation. The organization seeks to promote political stability and regional security; enhance the management of economies and the development process; improve trade and investment; and efficiently manage the resources of the Secretariat.

Activities. The Secretariat has four core divisions: Trade and Investment; Political and International Affairs; Development and Economic Policy; Corporate Services. It provides policy advice to members on social, economic and political issues. Since 1989 the Forum has held Post Forum Dialogues with key dialogue partners at ministerial level. There are currently 14 partners: Canada, China, EU, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand, UK and USA.

Organization. Established in 1972, the South Pacific Bureau for Economic Co-operation (SPEC) began as a trade bureau before being reorganized as the South Pacific Forum Secretariat in 1988. The Secretariat is headed by a Secretary-General and Deputy Secretary-General who form the Executive. The governing body is the Forum Officials Committee, which acts as an intermediary between the Secretariat and the Forum. The Secretariat operates four Trade Offices in Auckland, Beijing, Sydney and Tokyo.

The Secretary-General is the permanent Chair of the Council of Regional Organisations in the Pacific (CROP), which brings together ten main regional organizations in the Pacific region: Fiji School of Medicine (FSMed); Pacific Aviation Safety Office (PASO); Pacific Islands Development Programme (PIDP); Pacific

Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (PIFFA); Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS); Pacific Power Association (PPA); Secretariat for the Pacific Community (SPC); Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP); South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO); and University of the South Pacific (USP).

Official language: English.

Headquarters: Ratu Sukuna Road, Suva, Fiji Islands.

Website: http://www.forumsec.org.fj

Secretary-General: Tuiloma Neroni Slade (Samoa).

Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)

Until Feb. 1998 known as the South Pacific Commission, this is a regional intergovernmental organization founded in 1947 under an Agreement commonly referred to as the Canberra Agreement. It is funded by assessed contributions from its 26 members and by voluntary contributions from member and non-member countries, international organizations and other sources.

Members. American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji Islands, France, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, USA, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna.

Functions. The SPC has three main areas of work: land resources, marine resources and social resources. It conducts research and provides technical assistance and training in these areas to member Pacific Island countries and territories of the Pacific.

Organization. The Conference of the Pacific Community is the governing body of the Community. Its key focus is to appoint the Director-General, to consider major national or regional policy issues and to note changes to the Financial and Staff Regulations approved by the CRGA, the Committee of Representatives of Governments and Administrations. It meets every two years. The CRGA meets once a year and is the principal decision-making organ of the Community. There are also regional offices in the Fiji Islands and Micronesia.

Headquarters: BP D5, 98848 Nouméa Cedex, New Caledonia. Website: http://www.spc.int
Email: spc@spc.int
Director-General: Dr Jimmie Rodgers (Solomon Islands).

South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC)

SAARC was established to accelerate the process of economic and social development in member states. The foreign ministers of the seven member countries met for the first time in New Delhi in Aug. 1983 and adopted the Declaration on South Asian Regional Co-operation whereby an Integrated Programme of Action (IPA) was launched. The charter establishing SAARC was adopted at the first summit meeting in Dhaka in Dec. 1985.

Members. Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka. *Observers*. Australia, China, EU, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Mauritius, Myanmar, USA.