Official languages: English, French. Headquarters: Rue Joseph Anoma, 01 BP 1387, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire. Website: http://www.afdb.org Email: afdb@afdb.org President: Donald Kaberuka (Rwanda).

## African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank)

Established in 1987 under the auspices of the African Development Bank to facilitate, promote and expand intra-African and extra-African trade. Membership is made up of three categories of shareholders: Class 'A' Shareholders consisting of African governments, African central banks and sub-regional and regional financial institutions and economic organizations; Class 'B' Shareholders consisting of African public and private financial institutions; and Class 'C' Shareholders consisting of international financial institutions, economic organizations and non-African states, banks, financial institutions and public and private investors.

Official languages: English, French, Arabic, Portuguese.

Headquarters: 72B El Maahad El Eshteraky St., Heliopolis,

Cairo 11341, Egypt.

Website: http://www.afreximbank.com

*President and Chairman of the Board:* Jean-Louis Ekra (Côte d'Ivoire).

## African Union (AU)

*History.* The Fourth Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the Heads of State and Government of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) held in Sirté, Libya on 9 Sept. 1999 decided to establish an African Union. At Lomé, Togo on 11 July 2000 the OAU Assembly of the Heads of State and Government adopted the Constitutive Act of the African Union, which was later ratified by the required two-thirds of the member states of the Organization of African Unity (OAU); it came into force on 26 May 2001. The Lusaka Summit, in July 2001, gave a mandate to translate the transformation of the Organization of African Unity, in South Africa, formally launched the African Union.

*Members.* Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire\*, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar\*\*, Malaŵi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger\*\*\*, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Western Sahara), São Tomé e Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. \*Membership suspended following the disputed election of Dec. 2010. \*\*Membership suspended since the change of government in March 2009. \*\*\*Membership suspended since the coup of Feb. 2010.

*Aims.* The African Union aims to promote unity, solidarity, cohesion and co-operation among the peoples of Africa and African states, and at the same time to co-ordinate efforts by African people to realize their goals of achieving economic, political and social integration.

Activities. The African Union became fully operational in July 2002, and is working towards establishing the organs stipulated in the constitutive act. These include a Pan-African parliament, an Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC) and a Peace and Security Council (which have now been inaugurated), plus a Central Bank and a Court of Justice and Human Rights (originally planned only as a Court of Justice).

*Official languages*: Arabic, English, French, Ki-Swahili, Portuguese and Spanish. *Headquarters*: POB 3243, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. *Website*: http://www.au.int *Chairman*: Brig.-Gen. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo (Equatorial Guinea).

## Bank of Central African States (BEAC)

The Bank of Central African States (Banque des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale) was established in 1973 when a new Convention of Monetary Co-operation with France was signed. The five original members, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo and Gabon, were joined by Equatorial Guinea in 1985. Under its Convention and statutes, the BEAC is declared a 'Multinational African institution in the management and control of which France participates in return for the guarantee she provides for its currency'.

Official language: French.

*Headquarters:* 736 avenue Monseigneur Vogt, 1917 Yaoundé, Cameroon.

Website (French only): http://www.beac.int

Governor: Lucas Abaga Nchama (Equatorial Guinea).

Publications. Etudes et Statistiques (monthly bulletins); Annual Report; Directory of Banks and Financial Establishments of BEAC Monetary Area (annual); Bulletin du Marché Monétaire (monthly bulletins); Annual Report of the Banking Commission.

## Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)

Established in 1962, the Central Bank of West African States (Banque Centrale des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest) is the common central bank of the eight member states which form the West African Monetary Union (WAMU). It has the sole right of currency issue throughout the Union territory and is responsible for the pooling of the Union's foreign exchange reserve; the management of the monetary policy of the member states; the keeping of the accounts of the member states treasury; and the definition of the banking law applicable to banks and financial establishments.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo.

Official language: French.

*Headquarters:* Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga, Dakar, Senegal. *Website:* http://www.bceao.int

Governor (acting): Jean-Baptiste Compaoré (Burkina Faso).

Publications. Rapport annuel (annual); Annuaire des Banques (annual); Bilan des Banques U.M.O.A. (annual); Notes d'information et statistiques (monthly bulletin).