Judges. The International Criminal Court's first 18 judges were elected in Feb. 2003, with six serving for three years, six for six years and six for nine years. Every three years six new judges are elected. Miriam Defensor Santiago of the Philippines was elected in Dec. 2011 but never took up office owing to other commitments initially and health issues later, and resigned in June 2014. A successor was scheduled to be elected in June 2015. At present the 17 judges, with the year in which their term of office is scheduled to end, are: Joyce Aluoch (Kenya, 2018); Chung Chang-ho (South Korea, 2024); Chile Eboe-Osuji (Nigeria, 2021); Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi (Argentina, 2018); Robert Fremr (Czech Republic, 2021); Geoffrey A. Henderson (Trinidad and Tobago, 2021); Olga Venecia Herrera Carbuccia (Dominican Republic, 2021); Piotr Hofmański (Poland, 2024); Péter Kovács (Hungary, 2024); Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua (Democratic Republic of the Congo, 2024); Sanji Mmasenono Monageng (Botswana, 2018); Howard Morrison (United Kingdom, 2021); Kuniko Ozaki (Japan, 2018); Marc Pierre Perrin de Brichambaut (France, 2024); Bertram Schmitt (Germany, 2024); Cuno Tarfusser (Italy, 2018); Christine Van Den Wyngaert (Belgium, 2018).

Prosecutor. Fatou Bensouda (Gambia) was unanimously elected the second prosecutor of the Court on 12 Dec. 2011 and succeeded Luis Moreno-Ocampo (Argentina) on 16 June 2012.

Headquarters: Maanweg 174, 2516 AB The Hague,

Netherlands.

Website: http://www.icc-cpi.int

President: Song Sang-hyun (South Korea).

Further Reading

Baker, Michael N. (ed.) International Criminal Court: Developments and U.S. Policy. 2012

Macedo, Stephen, (ed.) Universal Jurisdiction: National Courts and the Prosecution of Serious Crimes Under International Law. 2003

Mendes, Errol, Peace and Justice at the International Criminal Court: A Court of Last Resort. 2010

Reydams, Luc, Universal Jurisdiction: International and Municipal Perspectives. 2003

Schabas, William A., An Introduction to the International Criminal Court. 4th ed. 2011

Struett, Michael J., The Politics of Constructing the International Criminal Court: NGOs, Discourse, and Agency. 2008

International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA)

Created in 1995, International IDEA is an intergovernmental organization that supports sustainable democratic change through providing comparative knowledge, assisting in democratic reform, and influencing policies and politics. International IDEA focuses on the ability of democratic institutions to deliver a political system marked by public participation and inclusion, representative and accountable government, responsiveness to citizens' needs and aspirations, and the rule of law and equal rights for all citizens.

Aims and Activities. International IDEA undertakes work through three activity areas: providing comparative knowledge derived from practical experience on democracy-building processes—elections and referendums, constitutions, political parties, women's political empowerment and democracy self-assessments—from diverse contexts around the world; assisting political actors in reforming democratic institutions and processes, and engaging in political processes when invited to do so; influencing democracy-building policies and assistance to political actors.

Membership. International IDEA had 28 full member states and one observer state in Feb. 2015.

Organization. International IDEA has regional operations in Latin America, Africa, the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific, and has a staff of over 70 worldwide.

Headquarters: Strömsborg, 103 34 Stockholm, Sweden. *Website*: http://www.idea.int *Secretary-General*: Yves Leterme (Belgium).

International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)

Founded in 1979 as the International Maritime Satellite Organization (Inmarsat) to establish a satellite system to improve maritime communications for distress and safety and commercial applications. Its competence was subsequently expanded to include aeronautical and land mobile communications. Privatization, which was completed in April 1999, transferred the business to a newly created company and the Organization remains as a regulator to ensure that the company fulfils its public services obligations. The company has taken the Inmarsat name and the Organization uses the acronym IMSO. In Feb. 2015 the Organization had 100 member parties.

Organization. The Assembly of all Parties to the Convention meets every two years.

Headquarters: 99 City Road, London EC1Y 1AX, UK. IMSO Website: http://www.imso.org
Email: info@imso.org
Inmarsat Website: http://www.inmarsat.com
Director of the Secretariat, IMSO: Capt. Moin Ahmed
(Bangladesh).

Chief Executive, Inmarsat Ltd: Rupert Pearce (United Kingdom).

International Olympic Committee (IOC)

Founded in 1894 by French educator Baron Pierre de Coubertin, the International Olympic Committee is an international non-governmental, non-profit organization whose members act as the IOC's representatives in their respective countries, not as delegates of their countries within the IOC. The Committee's main responsibility is to supervise the organization of the summer and winter Olympic Games. It owns all rights to the Olympic symbols, flag, motto, anthem and Olympic Games.

Aims. 'To contribute to building a peaceful and better world by educating youth through sport, practised without discrimination of any kind and in the Olympic Spirit, which requires mutual understanding with a spirit of friendship, solidarity and fair play.'

Finances. The IOC receives no public funding. Its only source of funding is from private sectors, with the substantial part of these revenues coming from television broadcasters and sponsors.

Address: Château de Vidy, Case Postale 356, CH-1007 Lausanne, Switzerland. Website: http://www.olympic.org President: Thomas Bach (Germany).