individual supporters and foundation grants. In the 18 months to Jan. 2009, 2-9m. people took out or renewed financial membership.

*Headquarters:* Ottho Heldringstraat 5, 1066 AZ Amsterdam, Netherlands. *Website:* http://www.greenpeace.org *Executive Director:* Kumi Naidoo (South Africa).

centive Director. Rumi Naluoo (South Anica).

## World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF)

*Origin.* WWF was officially formed and registered as a charity on 11 Sept. 1961. The first National Appeal was launched in the United Kingdom on 23 Nov. 1961, shortly followed by the United States and Switzerland.

*Mission.* WWF has as its mission preserving genetic, species and ecosystem diversity; ensuring that the use of renewable natural resources is sustainable now and in the longer term, for the benefit of all life on Earth; promoting actions to reduce to a minimum pollution and the wasteful exploitation and consumption of resources and energy. WWF's ultimate goal is to stop, and eventually reverse, the accelerating degradation of our planet's natural environment, and to help build a future in which humans live in harmony with nature.

*Organization.* WWF is the world's largest and most experienced independent conservation organization with almost 5m. supporters (including 1·1m. in the USA) and a global network of 31 National Organizations and five associate offices.

The National Organizations carry out conservation activities in their own countries and contribute technical expertise and funding to WWF's international conservation programme. The Programme Offices implement WWF's fieldwork, advise national and local governments, and raise public understanding of conservation issues.

Address: Avenue du Mont-Blanc, CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland. Website: http://wwf.panda.org Director General: Marco Lambertini (Italy). President Emeritus: HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

President: Yolanda Kakabadse (Ecuador).

## Treaties

### Antarctic Treaty

Antarctica is an island continent some 15.5m. sq. km in area which lies almost entirely within the Antarctic Circle. Its surface is composed of an ice sheet over rock, and it is uninhabited except for research and other workers in the course of duty. It is in general ownerless: for countries with territorial claims, *see* ARGENTINA; AUSTRALIA: Australian Antarctic Territory; CHILE; FRANCE: Southern and Antarctic Territories; NEW ZEALAND: Ross Dependency; NORWAY: Queen Maud Land; UNITED KINGDOM: British Antarctic Territory.

12 countries which had maintained research stations in Antarctica during International Geophysical Year, 1957–58 (Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the USSR, the UK and the USA) signed the Antarctic Treaty (Washington Treaty) on 1 Dec. 1959. Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Malaysia, Monaco, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Uruguay and Venezuela subsequently acceded to the Treaty. The Treaty reserves the Antarctic area south of 60° S. lat. for peaceful purposes, provides for international co-operation in scientific investigation and research, and preserves, for the duration of the Treaty, the *status quo* with regard to territorial sovereignty, rights and claims. The Treaty entered into force on 23 June 1961. The 51 nations party to the Treaty (29 consultative or voting members and 22 non-consultative parties) meet biennially.

An agreement reached in Madrid in April 1991 and signed by all 39 parties in Oct. imposes a ban on mineral exploitation in Antarctica for 50 years, at the end of which any one of the 29 voting parties may request a review conference. After this the ban may be lifted by agreement of three quarters of the nations then voting, which must include the present 29.

Headquarters: Maipú 757 Piso 4, C1006ACI, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Website: http://www.ats.aq Email: ats@ats.aq Executive Secretary: Manfred Reinke (Germany).

#### **Further Reading**

Elliott, L. M., International Environmental Politics: Protecting the Antarctic. 1994

Jørgensen-Dahl, A. and Østreng, W., *The Antarctic Treaty System in World Politics*. 1991

Triggs, Gillian D. (ed.) The Antarctic Treaty Regime: Law, Environment and Resources. 2009

### Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons opened for signatories on 1 July 1968. It came into force on 5 March 1970. A review meeting takes place every five years. The initial treaty was limited to a 25-year term but it was extended indefinitely in 1995.

The treaty aims to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons and weapons technology, to promote co-operation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and to further the goal of achieving nuclear disarmament and general and complete disarmament. The International Atomic Energy Agency (*see* page 24) is responsible for setting safeguards to ensure compliance.

Of the treaty's 190 members only five have nuclear weapon capabilities: China, France, Russia, UK and USA. Three states known or believed to have developed nuclear weapons have not ratified the treaty: India, Israel and Pakistan. North Korea withdrew from the treaty in 2003, the only state to have done so.

*See also* Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) on page 26.

Website:

http://www.un.org/disarmament/WMD/Nuclear/NPT.shtml

# Leading Think Tanks

### American Enterprise Institute (for Public Policy Research)

Founded 1943. Private, non-partisan think tank based around principles of private liberty, individual opportunity and free enterprise. Six principal research areas: economics; foreign and defence policy; health; legal and constitutional studies; political and public opinion studies; social and cultural studies.

Address: 1150 Seventeenth St., NW, Washington, D.C., 20036, USA.

Website: http://www.aei.org

President: Arthur C. Brooks.