ALGERIA

al-Jumhuriya al-Jazairiya ad-Dumuqratiya ash-Shabiya

Area: 2,381,745 sq. km Population: 20,235,000 Capital: Algiers [al-Jazair]

Head of State: Col. Bendjedid Chadli (President)

Minister of the Interior: M'hamed Yala

Algeria comprises 31 departments (wilayat), named after their chief cities:

Adrar Jijel
al-Asnam [Orléansville] Laghouat
al-Boulaida [Blida] Mascara
al-Jazair [Algiers] Médéa
Annaba Mostaganem
Batna M'Sila

Béchar Oahran [Oran]

Béjaia [Bougie] Ouargla

Biskra Oum el Bouaghi

Bouira Qacentina [Constantine]

Djelfa Saida Guelma Sétif Sidi-Bel-Abbès Tiaret
Skikda Tizi-Ouzou
Tamanrasset Tlemcen
Tébessa

ORGANIZATION

Shortly after Algeria achieved independence on 3 July 1962, the National Liberation Front (Front de Libération National, FLN) began by forming an interim police force. The regime soon reverted to the tried and tested French police system: a National Security Police (Sûreté Nationale) and a National Gendarmerie (Gendarmerie Nationale). Both remain operational; their organization still follows standard French practice. See France.

The Algerian Gendarmerie is a modern, French-trained paramilitary force, with a personnel strength of about 24,000 and brigades in each department. For administrative purposes, its units are allocated to the five military regions into which the country is divided: I with headquarters at al-Boulaida; II at Oahran; III at Béchar; IV at Ouargla; and V at Qacentina. The Gendarmerie's duties are similar to those of its French counterpart.

Direction Générale de la Sûreté Nationale, Place Mohammed Ouanouri, Alger

Commandement de la Gendarmerie, Alger