## BENIN République Populaire du Bénin

Area: 112,622 sq. km Population: 3,905,000 Capital: Porto Novo

Head of State: Brig.-Gen. Ahmed Kerekou (President,

Minister of National Defence)

Formerly known as Dahomey until December 1975, Benin comprises six provinces (chief cities in brackets):

Atakora (Natitingou) Atlantique (Cotonou) Borgou (Parakou) Mono (Lokossa) Oueme (Porto Novo) Zou (Abomey) The National Security Police (Sûreté Nationale), which is commanded by a Director of the Security Services, is the national police force. It is in charge of general and traffic duties, as well as criminal investigation, for which purpose it includes a Judiciary Police Service (Service de Police Judiciaire).

Police duties outside the main cities are performed by the Benin Gendarmerie (Gendarmerie du Bénin), a paramilitary force based on the French Gendarmerie, with a personnel strength of about 1200 in 8 companies (compagnies).

Despite the fact that Benin is a Marxist-Leninist state ruled by the Benin People's Revolutionary Party (Parti de la Révolution Populaire du Bénin, PRPB), the National Security Police and the Gendarmerie still maintain their typically French organization.

Direction de la Sûreté Nationale, Cotonou