THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE BAHAMAS

Area: 13,864 sq. km Population: 209,505 Capital: Nassau

Governor-General: Sir Gerald Cash Minister of Labour and Home Affairs: Clement T. Maynard

Emergency Services: 919

The Commonwealth of the Bahamas comprises 700 islands and more than 1000 cays, only 30 of which are inhabited. Principal islands are Cat Island, Andros Abaco, Eleuthera, Grand Bahama, Inagua, Long Island and New Providence (where Nassau is located).

ORGANIZATION

The Royal Bahamas Police Force comprises a number of divisions and departments, including the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), and the Traffic, Internal Security, Central, Southern and Western Divisions. The CID controls a Police Dog Section and a Commercial Crime Section; the latter operates a Drug Squad. Also under the CID is the Criminal Records Office and the liaison with Interpol.

The Royal Bahamas Police Force includes a Security and Intelligence Branch, in charge of internal security duties. It also has a Fire Branch, to operate the appliances and installations of the Bahamas Fire Department. The police force also co-operates with the Bahamas Defence Force, and for many years it was the only permanent defence force in the country. The Police Marine Division operates eight patrol craft. Personnel strength of the Royal Bahamas Police Force is 950.

Police Headquarters, PO Box N458, Nassau (2-4444) Criminal Investigation Dept, PO Box N3020, Nassau (2-2311)

Police Marine Division Headquarters, Nassau (2–2383) Royal Bahamas Police College, Nassau (5–8551)

PRIVATE SECURITY

The two main private security companies are:

Security Services (Bahamas) Ltd, Stapledon Gardens, Nassau (3-4430)

Trace (1976) Ltd, PO Box N1195, Nassau (3-6300)