This chapter sets out a categorised framework of pension systems for the subsequent analysis of pensionable age reforms. All OECD countries are classified into three types: Bismarckian, Beveridgean and Bismarckian Lite, with additional sub-categories. Although a particular reform may not be explained through the pension type, it provides the reader with a useful framework through which to analyse the pension reforms undertaken.


Beveridgean Bismarckian OECD pension system classification 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Catherine Blair 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Catherine Blair

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations