Temporaries, Tokens, and Ceremonial Leaders

  • Jane S. Jensen


Still other women have assumed the top political post on a temporary, acting, or interim basis. In a sense, leaders such as Sirimavo Bandaranaike, Indira Gandhi, and Golda Meir were viewed by the politicians who supported their candidacies as filling temporary positions, but these three stretched their tenure in office much beyond what was expected. Bandaranaike in 3 separate terms served approximately 17 years, Gandhi remained in office for more than 15 years, and Meir served almost 5 years.


Prime Minister Presidential Election Labor Party Civil Conflict Center Party 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Ray Bonner, “President Lydia Gueiler Tejada—Bolivia’s Answer to Strongman Politics,” Ms., 8 (May 1980), p. 83.Google Scholar
  2. 7.
    Kevin Hill, “Sylvie Kinigi,” in Women in Law, ed. by Rebecca Mae Saloker (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996), p. 120.Google Scholar
  3. 13.
    See Samuel Decalo, Psychoses of Power (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1989).Google Scholar
  4. 20.
    Fergus Finley, Mary Robinson (Dublin: O’Brien Press, 1990), pp. 14–24.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Jane S. Jensen 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jane S. Jensen

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations