The Six Argument Encoding Types as a System

  • Mitsuaki Shimojo


The preceding chapters have laid out how the six encoding types are classified in terms of the two saliency indices. The findings presented thus far are summarized in Table 6.1. Concerning anaphoric saliency, three types are identified: (i) an encoding type associated with saliency (i.e. smaller RD) — zero anaphor, (ii) those associated with nonsaliency (i.e. larger RD) — ga and o, and (iii) those associated with ambivalent saliency — wa, the zero particle, and the post-predicative encoding. On the other hand, cataphoric saliency splits the encoding types into two groups: (i) those associated with focusing of referents (i.e. higher RP-f and RP, greater frequency in chain-internal use) — zero anaphor, ga, o, and wa and (ii) those associated with defocusing of referents (i.e. lower RP-f and RP, greater frequency in chain-final use) — the zero particle and the post-predicative encoding.


Attenuation Coherence Turkey Tate Paral 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Mitsuaki Shimojo 2005

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mitsuaki Shimojo

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations