New Zealand

  • Robert Gregory
Part of the Public Sector Organizations book series (PSO)


New Zealand has a population of about 4.4 million people. Its political system comprises the following main features: a constitutional monarchy—the British sovereign as head of state; Westminster parliamentary democracy; unicameral parliament; a unitary state, in which central government is the dominant source of political and administrative power, though with a range of functions administered by elected regional, city and district authorities. At the core of central government is the public service, made up of departments and ministers under the daily control of the political executive (cabinet). The public service is in turn a component of the wider state services, which also include ministerial departments that are not a part of the public service, the defence force, the police, the security-intelligence service, crown entities (except tertiary-education institutions), and the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (the country’s central bank). There are five categories of crown entities, depending primarily on the type of government function they perform, and the scope of their powers.


Chief Executive State Sector Governing Board District Authority Daily Control 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Robert Gregory 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Robert Gregory

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations