• Chris Aulich
  • Roger Wettenhall
Part of the Public Sector Organizations book series (PSO)


The device of the statutory authority was in use from the early days of organized government in Australia, and there has been continuous development of non-departmental forms ever since. In earlier times, arrangements for the establishment of agencies may have been quite haphazard but in recent times there have been efforts to systematize the arrangements under two broad classes of agencies. The major agency categories that have developed are:
  1. statutory authorities, with statutory or public corporations (incorporated bodies) and statutory agencies (statutory authorities staffed under the Public Service Act and therefore part of the public service) as sub-groups (Type 2 agencies as defined in Chapter 2 of this book);

  2. government-owned companies (limited either by shares or by guarantee)1 (Type 3 agencies);

  3. as recent additions to the agency family, executive agencies and prescribed agencies (Type 1 agencies).



Ministerial Control Executive Agency Australian Experience Company Form Statutory Authority 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Chris Aulich and Roger Wettenhall 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Chris Aulich
  • Roger Wettenhall

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations