• Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


First occupied by France in 1882, the Congo became (as ‘Middle Congo’) a territory of French Equatorial Africa from 1910–58, when it became a member state of the French Community. It became an independent Republic on 15 Aug. 1960.


Civil Aviation Supreme Council French Community Foreign Economic Relation French Equatorial 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.
République du Congo


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Thompson, V., and Adloff, R., Historical Dictionary of the People’s Republic of the Congo. 2nd ed. Metuchen, 1984Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1992

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations