British Indian Ocean Territory

  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


This territory was established by an Order in Council on 8 Nov. 1965, consisting then of the Chagos Archipelago (formerly administered from Mauritius) and the islands of Aldabra, Desroches and Farquhar (all formerly administered from Seychelles). The latter islands became part of Seychelles when that country achieved independence on 29 June 1976.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1992

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations