República Popular de Angola
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The first Europeans to arrive in Angola were the Portuguese in 1482, and the first settlers arrived there in 1491. Luanda was founded in 1575. Apart from a brief period of Dutch occupation from 1641 to 1648, Angola remained a Portuguese colony until 11 June 1951, when it became an Overseas Province of Portugal. On 11 Nov. 1975 Angola became fully independent as the People’s Republic of Angola. The People’s Liberation Movement of Angola (MPLA) and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) committed themselves to putting their rival claims to power to a popular vote, but the agreement broke down in battles which left MPLA in control of the capital and the other factions banished to the countryside. In 1990 MPLA and UNITA began peace talks.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Anuário Estatistico de Angola. Luanda, from 1897Google Scholar
  2. Araujo, A. Correia de, Aspectos do desenvolvimento económico e social de Angola. Lisbon, 1964Google Scholar
  3. Bender, G. J., Angola under the Portuguese: Myth and Reality. London, 1979Google Scholar
  4. Bhagavan, M. R., Angola s Political Economy 1975–1985. Uppsala, 1986Google Scholar
  5. Davidson, B., In the Eye of the Storm. London, 1972Google Scholar
  6. Marcrum, J., The Angolan Revolution. (2 vols.) MIT Press, 1969 and 1978Google Scholar
  7. Somerville, K., Angola: Politics. Economics and Society. London and Boulder, 1986Google Scholar
  8. Wheeler, D. L. and Pélissier, R., Angola. London, 1971Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations