Côte d’Ivoire

République de la Côte d’Ivoire (Republic of the Ivory Coast)
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. France obtained rights on the coast in 1842, but did not actively and continuously occupy the territory till 1882. On 10 Jan. 1889 Ivory Coast was declared a French protectorate, and it became a colony on 10 March 1893; in 1904 it became a territory of French West Africa. On 1 Jan. 1933 most of the territory of Upper Volta was added to the Ivory Coast, but on 1 Jan. 1948 this area was returned to the re-constituted Upper Volta, now Burkina Faso. The Ivory Coast became an autonomous republic within the French Community on 4 Dec. 1958 and achieved full independence on 7 Aug. 1960. From 1 Jan. 1986 the French version of the name of the country became the only correct title.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Statistical Information: Service de la Statistique, Abidjan. It publishes Bulletin Statistique Mensuel and Inventoire Économique de la Côte d’Ivoire. Google Scholar
  2. Sugar, H., Ivory Coast. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1990Google Scholar
  3. Zartman, I. W. and Delgado, C., The Political Economy of Ivory Coast. New York, 1984Google Scholar
  4. Zolberg, A. R., One-Party Government in the Ivory Coast. Rev. ed. Princeton Univ. Press, 1974Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations