Costa Rica

República de Costa Rica
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of New Spain from 1540, Costa Rica (the ‘Rich Coast’) formed part of Central America when the latter acquired independence on 15 Sept. 1821. Central America seceded to Mexico on 5 Jan. 1822 until 1 July 1823, when it became an independent confederation as the United Provinces of Central America. The province of Guanacaste was acquired from Nicaragua in 1825. Costa Rica left the confederation and achieved full independence in 1838. The first Constitution was promulgated on 7 Dec. 1871.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Statistical Information: Official statistics are issued by the Director General de Estadística (Ministerio de Industria y Comercio, San José) as they become available. The compilation of statistics was started in 1861.Google Scholar
  2. Ameringer, C. D., Democracy in Costa Rica. New York, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Biesanz, R., (et al), The Costa Ricans. Hemel Hempstead, 1982Google Scholar
  4. Bird, L., Costa Rica: Unarmed Democracy. London, 1984Google Scholar
  5. Fernandez Guardia, L., Historia de Costa Rica. 2nd ed., 2 vols. San José, 1941Google Scholar
  6. Seligson, M. A., Peasants of Costa Rica and the Development of Agrarian Capitalism. Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 1980Google Scholar
  7. Stansifer, C., Costa Rica. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1988Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations