British Antarctic Territory

  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The British Antarctic Territory was established on 3 March 1962, as a consequence of the entry into force of the Antarctic Treaty (see p. 60), to separate those areas of the then Falkland Islands Dependencies which lay within the Treaty area from those which did not (i.e. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands see p. 1113).

Further Reading

  1. Fox, R., Antarctica and the South Atlantic. London, 1985Google Scholar
  2. Parsons, A., Antarctica: The Next Decade. OUP, 1987CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations