Central African Republic

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Central African Republic became independent on 13 Aug. 1960, after having been one of the 4 territories of French Equatorial Africa (under the name of Ubangi Shari) and from 1 Dec. 1958 a member state of the French Community. In Jan. 1959 the 4 republics formed an ‘economic, technical and customs union’. A new Constitution was adopted by a special congress of the Mouvement pour l’évolution sociale de l’Afrique noire on 4 Dec. 1976. It provided for the country to be a parliamentary democracy and to be known as the Central African Empire. President Bokassa became Emperor Bokassa I. The Emperor was overthrown in a coup on 20–21 Sept. 1979 and the empire was abolished. On 15 March 1981 David Dacko was again elected President but was deposed on 1 Sept. 1981 by General André Kolingba.

République centrafricaine


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations