• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Tradition recounts the establishment of a Tutsi kingdom under successive Mwamis as early as the 16th century. German military occupation in 1890 incorporated the territory into German East Africa. From 1919 Burundi formed part of Ruanda-Urundi administered by the Belgians, first as a League of Nations mandate and then as a United Nations trust territory. Elections supervised by the United Nations in Sept. 1961 resulted in a large majority for the Unité et Progrès National party (Uprona). Internal self-government was granted on 1 Jan. 1962, followed by independence on 1 July 1962. An agreement, signed with Rwanda under United Nations auspices at Addis Ababa in April 1962, provided for a monetary and customs union. This union and all organizations operated jointly by the two governments were dissolved by 30 Sept. 1964.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Lemarchand, R., Rwanda and Burundi. London, 1970Google Scholar
  2. Melady, T. P., Burundi: The Tragic Years. Maryknoll, New York. 1974Google Scholar
  3. Mpozapara, G., La République du Burundi. Paris, 1971Google Scholar
  4. Weinstein, W., Historical Dictionary of Burundi. Metuchen, 1976Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations