British Indian Ocean Territory

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


This territory was established by an Order in Council on 8 Nov. 1965, consisting then of the Chagos Archipelago (formerly administered from Mauritius) and the islands of Aldabra, Desroches and Farquhar (all formerly administered from Seychelles). The latter islands having become part of Seychelles when that country achieved independence on 29 June 1976, the territory now comprises the Chagos Archipelago, lying 1,180 miles (1,899 km) north-east of Mauritius.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations