Pyee-Daung-Su Myanma-Nainggan-Daw
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Union of Burma came formally into existence on 4 Jan. 1948. On this day, Sir Hubert Rance, the last British Governor, handed over authority to Sao Shwe Thaike, the first President of the Burmese Republic ; the Cabinet took the oath of office, and Parliament ratified the treaty with Great Britain providing for the independence of Burma as a country not within His Britannic Majesty’s dominions and not entitled to His Britannic Majesty’s protection. This treaty was signed in London on 17 Oct. 1947 and enacted by the British Parliament on 10 Dec. 1947.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Statistical Information, A Central Statistical Office is being organized as a department of the Ministry of National Planning.Google Scholar
  2. Burma: Treaty between the Government of the United Kingdom and, the Provisional Government of Burma. (Treaty Series No. 16, 1948). HMSO, 1948Google Scholar
  3. Cook, B. O. A., Burma. Overseas Economic Survey. April 1957. HMSO, 1957Google Scholar
  4. Cornyn, W. S., and Musgrare, J. K., Burmese Glossary. New York, 1958Google Scholar
  5. Lehman, F. K., The structure of Chin society. University of Illinois Press, 1963Google Scholar
  6. Stewart, J. A., and Dunn, O. W., Burmese-English Dictionary. London, 1940 ff.Google Scholar
  7. Thakin Nu, Burma under the Japanese. London, 1953Google Scholar
  8. Tinker, H., The Union of Burma. OUP, 1957Google Scholar
  9. Woodman, D., The Making of Burma. London, 1962Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1965

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations