The Commonwealth

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION. The British Commonwealth of Nations consists of the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Ceylon, Ghana, Nigeria, Cyprus, Sierra Leone, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Kenya, Malaysia, Tanzania, Malawi, Malta, Zambia, Gambia; the Colonies and Protectorates; and the Territories under Trusteeship.

Books of Reference

  1. The Cambridge History of the British Empire. 8 vols. CUP, 1929 ff.Google Scholar
  2. Economic Survey of the Colonial Territories. 7 vols. HMSO, 1952 ff.Google Scholar
  3. Colonial Research. HMSOGoogle Scholar
  4. Quarterly Digest of Colonial Statistics. HMSOGoogle Scholar
  5. Colonial Territories, HMSOGoogle Scholar
  6. Bradley, K. (ed.), The Living Commonwealth. London, 1961Google Scholar
  7. Brady, A., Democracy in the Dominions. 2nd ed. Toronto, 1952Google Scholar
  8. Burns, Sir Ahm, In Defence of Colonies. London, 1957Google Scholar
  9. Casey, Lord, The Future of the Commonwealth. London, 1963Google Scholar
  10. Hailey, Lord, An African Survey. Rev. ed. Oxford, 1957.Google Scholar
  11. Hailey, Lord, Native Administration in the British African Territories. 5 vols. HMSO, 1951 ff.Google Scholar
  12. Jeffries, Sir C., The Colonial Office. London, 1956Google Scholar
  13. Keeton, G. W. (ed.), The British Commonwealth: its laws and constitutions. 9 vols. London, 1951 ff.Google Scholar
  14. Kuczynski, R. R., Demographic Survey of the British Colonial Empire. 3 vols. London, New York, Toronto, 1948–53Google Scholar
  15. Mansergh, N. (ed.), Documents and Speeches on British Commonwealth Affairs, 1931–52. OUP, 1953.Google Scholar
  16. Mansergh, N. Survey of British Commonwealth Affairs, 1931–52. 2 vols. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1952–58Google Scholar
  17. Masefield, G. B., A Short History of Agriculture in the British Colonies. London, 1950Google Scholar
  18. Maxwell, W. H. and L. F., A Legal Bibliography of the British Commonwealth of Nations. 2nd ed. London, 1956Google Scholar
  19. Wade, E. O. S., and Phillips, G. G., Constitutional Law: an outline of the law and practice of the constitution, including central and local government and the constitutional relations of the British Commonwealth and Empire. 6th ed. London, 1960Google Scholar
  20. Walker, E. A., The British Empire: Its Structure and Spirit. 2nd ed. London, 1954Google Scholar
  21. Walker, P. Gordon, The Commonwealth. London, 1962Google Scholar
  22. Whearo, K. C., The Statute of Westminster and Dominion Status. 5th ed. Oxford, 1953.Google Scholar
  23. Whearo, K. C., Constitutional Structure of the Commonwealth. Oxford, 1960Google Scholar
  24. Wiseman, V. H., The Cabinet in the Commonwealth. London, 1958Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1965

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations