• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Bolivia was roclaimed on 6 Aug. 1825; its first constitution was adopted on 19 Nov. 1826. The present constitution reverts to the version of 1047, replacing the fourteenth adopted in 1961. Executive power is vested in a President, elected for 4 years by direct popular vote, and eligible for immediate reelection. In the event of his death or failure to assume the office, the Vice-President, elected at the same time, assumes the presidency, and after him, the President of the Senate. The Congress of 2 chambers (Senate and Chamber of Deputies) meets annually on 6 Aug. at La Paz. It consists of 27 senators (3 for each Department) and 74 deputies, each representing about 40,000 electors. The electorate comprises all men over 21 years and women over 21 if single or 18 years of age if married. In 1952 the literacy test was abolished.

República de Bolivia


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. There is a weekly official gazette.Google Scholar
  2. Anuario Geográfico y Estadístico de la República de Bolivia. Google Scholar
  3. Anuario del Comercio Exterior de Bolivia Google Scholar
  4. Boletin Mensual de Información Estadística Google Scholar
  5. Constitución Política del Estado. La Paz, 1961.Google Scholar
  6. Report of the U.N. Mission of Technical Assistance to Bolivia. New York, 1951Google Scholar
  7. Fain, O., Bolivie. Paris, 1955Google Scholar
  8. Osborne, H., Bolivia : a land divided. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 3rd ed. 1064.—Indians of the Andes. London, 1952Google Scholar
  9. Scott, P. H., Economic and Commercial Conditions in Bolivia, Dec. 1955. HMSO, 1956Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1965

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations