República de Guatemala
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Guatemala was established on 17 April, 1839, after having formed for 18 years part of the Confederation of Central America. The present Constitution came into effect 11 March, 1945. The legislative power is vested in a single-chambered National Assembly or Congress, consisting of representatives (one for every 50,000 inhabitants) chosen by direct popular vote for 4 years; one-half of Congress is renewed every 2 years. Deputies may not be re-elected until after one term has elapsed. The President is normally elected for 6 years, and barred from re-election for a period of 12 years, but President Ubico’s term, which expired in 1937, was, as the result of a plebiscite held in June, 1935, and through an amendment to the Constitution in September, 1941, extended to 15 March, 1949. A revolt in July, 1944, overthrew President Ubico, and in the 1945 Constitution the principle that no President shall immediately succeed himself is reaffirmed; in the event of any attempted transgression of it, the right of rebellion is expressly sanctioned. No member of the armed forces may be elected to the presidency or to Congress.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

Books oî Reference concerning Guatemala: 1. Official Publications

  1. Department of Overseas Trade Reports. Annual series, London.Google Scholar
  2. The official gazette is called Diario de Centro América.Google Scholar
  3. Memoria de la Secretarla de Hacienda. Annual. Guatemala,Google Scholar
  4. Memoria de la Secretarla de Fomento. Annual. Guatemala.Google Scholar
  5. Constitución de la República de Guatemala decretada por la Asamblea nacional constituyente en 11 de Marzo de 1945. Guatemala City, 1945.Google Scholar
  6. Colección de tratados de Guatemala, compilada por José Rodriguez Cerna. Vol. I Pactos con el resto de Centro América. Guatemala, 1939.Google Scholar

2. Non-Official Publications

  1. Report of Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders, Annual. London.Google Scholar
  2. Fergmson (Erna), Quatemala. New York, 1937.Google Scholar
  3. Jones (Chester L.), Guatemala, Past and Present. Minneapolis, 1940.Google Scholar
  4. Kelsey (Vera) and Osborne (Lilly de J.), Four Keys to Guatemala. Rev. ed. New York, 1943.Google Scholar
  5. Key (Helmer), Kaffee, Zucker und Bananen : Eine Reise nach Cuba und Guatemala. Munich, 1929.Google Scholar
  6. Lentz (F. J.), Aus dem Hochlande der Maya. Stuttgart, 1930.Google Scholar
  7. Mejia (J. V.), Geografìa descriptive de la República de Guatemala. Guatemala, 1922.Google Scholar
  8. Munoz (J.) and Ward (Anna B.), Guatemala. Ancient and Modern, New York, 1940.Google Scholar
  9. Villacorta (J. A.), Monografìa del Departamento de Guatemala. Guatemala, 1926.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1947

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations