• Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The constitution of Tasmania was settled by the local Act of Is Vict. No. 17. By this Act a Legislative Coimcil and a House of Assembly are constituted, called the ‘Parliament of Van Diemen’s Land.’ The Legislative Council is composed of fifteen members, elected by all natural born or naturalised subjects of the Crown who are either freeholders or leaseholders of landed property, or householders paying 25l. per annum. The House of Assembly consists of thirty members, elected by universal suffrage, with the exclusion only of criminals and paupers. The legislative authority rests in both Houses united; while the executive power is vested in a governor appointed by the Crown.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1865

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations