South Australia

  • Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The constitution of South Australia bears date October 27, 1856. It vests the legislative power in a Parliament elected by the people. The Parliament consists of a Legislative Council and a House of Assembly. The former is composed of eighteen members, six of whom retire every four years, their successors being then elected for twelve years. The executive has no power to dissolve this body. It is elected by the whole colony voting as one district. The qualification of an elector to the Legislative Council is as follows:—He must be twenty-one years of age, a natural-born or naturalised subject of Her Majesty, and have been on the electoral roll six months, besides having a freehold of 50l. value, or a leasehold of 20l. annual value, or occupying a dwelling-house of 25l, annual value. The qualification for a member of Council is merely that he must be thirty years of age, a natural-born or naturalised subject, and a resident in the province for three years. The President of the Council is elected by the members.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1865

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations