• Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The present form of government of the Indian empire is established by the Act 21 and 22 Victoria, cap. 106, called ‘An Act for the better Government of India,’ sanctioned August 2, 1858. By the terms of this Act, all the territories heretofore under the government of the East India Company are vested in Her Majesty, and all its powers are exercised in her name; all territorial and other revenues and all tributes and other payments are likewise received in her name, and disposed of for the purposes of the government of India alone, subject to the provisions of this Act. One of Her Majesty’s principal Secretaries of State, called the Secretary of State for India, is invested with all the powers hitherto exercised by the Company or by the Board of Control, and all warrants and orders under Her Majesty’s sign-manual must be countersigned by the same.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1865

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations