• Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The republic of Chili threw off the allegiance to the Crown of Spain by the declaration of independence of September 18, 1810. The constitution, voted by the representatives of the nation in 1833, establishes three authorities in the state—the legislative, the executive, and the judicial. The legislative power is vested in two assemblies, called the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. The Senate is composed of twenty members, elected for the term of nine years; while the Chamber of Deputies, chosen for a period of three years, consists of one representative for every 20,000 of the population. The executive is exercised by a president, elected for a term of five years.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1865

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations