Argentine Republic

  • Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The constitution of the Argentine Republic bears date May 15, 1853. By its provisions, the executive power is left to a president elected for six years by representatives of the fourteen provinces, 133 in number; while the legislative authority is exercised by a Senate and a House of Deputies, the former numbering 30, and the latter 54 members. A vice-president, elected in the same manner, and at the same time as the president, assists in the discharge of the executive. The president is commander-in-chief of the troops, and appoints to all civil, military, and judicial offices; but he and his ministers are responsible for their acts, and liable to impeachment before the Senate and the House of Representatives.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1865

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations