Advertisement

The International Paralympic Committee as a Governing Body

  • Mary A. Hums
  • Joshua R. Pate
Chapter

Abstract

The governance structure of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the Paralympic Movement includes international federations, National Paralympic Committees, a governing board, a general assembly, as well as a management team. Guided by its Strategic Plan, the IPC governs para-sport and also maintains relationships with the IOC and various sport governing bodies that work with sports for people with disabilities but are not competed in at the Paralympic Games.

References

  1. BBC. 2010. Canoeing and Triathlon Added to 2016 Paralympic Games. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/other_sports/disability_sport/9269632.stm
  2. Brittain, I. 2016. The Paralympic Games Explained. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge.Google Scholar
  3. CPC. n.d. Board of Directors. http://paralympic.ca/board-directors
  4. CPISRA. n.d. Vision and Mission. http://cpisra.org/dir/about-2/vision-mission/
  5. Curl BC. 2014. Wheelchair Curling. http://www.curlbc.ca/programs/wheelchair-program/
  6. Howe, P.D., and C. Jones. 2006. Classification of Disabled Athletes: (Dis)empowering the Paralympic Practice Community. Sociology of Sport Journal 23: 29–46.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. Hums, M.A., and J.C. MacLean. 2015. Governance and Policy in Sport Organisations. 3rd ed. Scottsdale, AZ: Holcomb Hathaway Publishers.Google Scholar
  8. ———. 2015b. History. http://www.ibsasport.org/history/
  9. ———. 2015c. Home Page. http://www.ibsasport.org/
  10. ———. 2012. IOC and IPC Sign Agreement Extension Until 2020. http://www.olympic.org/news/ioc-and-ipc-sign-agreement-extension-until-2020/166229
  11. ———. 2014. Olympic Agenda 2020. Lausanne, Switzerland: Author.Google Scholar
  12. ———. 2016. IOC and IPC Sign Long-Term Agreement Supporting the Paralympic Movement. https://www.olympic.org/news/ioc-and-ipc-sign-long-term-agreement-supporting-the-paralympic-movement
  13. ———. n.d.-b. Atlanta 1996. https://www.paralympic.org/atlanta-1996
  14. ———. n.d.-c. Barcelona 1992. https://www.paralympic.org/barcelona-1992
  15. ———. n.d.-d. Beijing 2008. https://www.paralympic.org/beijing-2008
  16. ———. n.d.-e. Councils. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/councils
  17. ———. n.d.-f. Governing Board. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/governing-board
  18. ———. n.d.-g. Greece 2004. https://www.paralympic.org/athens-2004
  19. ———. n.d.-h. International Federations. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/international-federation
  20. ———. n.d.-i. International Sport Federations. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/international-sport-federations
  21. ———. n.d.-j. IPC Announces Final Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Sports Programme. http://www.paralympic.org/news/ipc-announces-final-tokyo-2020-paralympic-sports-programme
  22. ———. n.d.-k. IPC Management Team. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/management-team
  23. ———. n.d.-l. IPC Operational Structure. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/operational-structure
  24. ———. n.d.-m. London 2012. https://www.paralympic.org/london-2012
  25. ———. n.d.-n. National Paralympic Committees. http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/national-paralympic-committees
  26. ———. n.d.-o. Sports. http://www.paralympic.org/sports
  27. ———. n.d.-p. Sports Technical Committees (STC). http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/committees/sports-technical-committees
  28. ———. n.d.-q. Sydney 2000. https://www.paralympic.org/sydney-2000
  29. ———. 2010. International Paralympic Committee Strategic Plan 2011–2014. Bonn, Germany: Author.Google Scholar
  30. ———. 2012a, September 5. IOC and IPC Extend Co-operation Agreement Until 2020. https://www.paralympic.org/news/ioc-and-ipc-extend-co-operation-agreement-until-2020
  31. ———. 2012b, August 30. United Nations Supports the Paralympic Games. http://www.paralympic.org/news/united-nations-supports-paralympic-games
  32. ———. 2013. International Paralympic Committee Sports Strategic Plan 2013–2016: Strategic Outlook for Paralympic Sports Managed by the IPC. Bonn, Germany: Author.Google Scholar
  33. ———. 2015a, April 14. IPC President to Speak at United Nations Headquarters. http://www.paralympic.org/news/ipc-president-speak-united-nations-headquarters
  34. ———. 2015b. Strategic Plan 2015–2018. Bonn, Germany: Author.Google Scholar
  35. International Tennis Federation. 2015a. About. http://www.itftennis.com/about/organisation/role.aspx
  36. Legg, D., T. Fay, E.A. Wolff, and M.A. Hums. 2014. The International Olympic Committee—International Paralympic Committee Relationship: Past, Present, and Future. Journal of Sport and Social Issues. doi: 10.1177/0193723514557822.
  37. Leotta, J. 2005. Profiles in Excellence: Golfers with Disabilities Get into the Swing. Solutions Marketing Group. http://disability-marketing.com/profiles/golf.php4
  38. Misener, L., S. Darcy, D. Legg, and K. Gilbert. 2013. Beyond Olympic Legacy: Understanding Paralympic Legacy Through a Thematic Analysis. Journal of Sport Management 27: 329–341.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  39. NBBA. n.d. NBBA Beep Baseball World Series. http://nbba.org/world_series/
  40. NIF. n.d. The Norwegian Olympic and Paralympic Committee and Confederation of Sports. http://www.idrettsforbundet.no/english
  41. ParaSport News. 2015. Sailing and 7-a-Side Football off Paralympic Program. http://www.parasport-news.com/sailing-and-7-a-side-football-off-2020-paralympic-program/5487/
  42. Pate, J. R. 2011, October/November. Game On! Making Golf Accessible. Ability Magazine, “Quincy Jones Issue”, 14–17.Google Scholar
  43. The R&A. n.d.-a. Golfers with Disabilities. http://www.randa.org/en/Playing-Golf/Golfers-with-Disabilities.aspx
  44. ———. n.d.-b. Playing Golf. http://www.randa.org/en/Playing-Golf.aspx
  45. United States Olympic Committee. 2015. USOPA. http://www.teamusa.org/Athlete-Resources/USOPA
  46. World Curling Federation. 2014. Classification Rules. Perth, Scotland: Author.Google Scholar
  47. World Disabled Golf Championship. 2014. 1st Countries & Players. http://world-dga.com/wp/?page_id=2
  48. World Golf Foundation. 2011. Golf Around the World. http://www.worldgolffoundation.org/golf-around-the-world/
  49. World Olympians Association. 2015. About—Introduction. http://olympians.org/woa/about/introduction/
  50. Yachting Australia. 2015. Yachting Australia—Australian Sailing Team Statement on Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Sports Decision. http://www.australiansailing.org/yachting-australia-australian-sailing-team-statement-on-tokyo-2020-paralympic-sports-decision/

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mary A. Hums
    • 1
  • Joshua R. Pate
    • 2
  1. 1.University of LouisvilleLouisvilleUSA
  2. 2.James Madison UniversityHarrisonburgUSA

Personalised recommendations