The 16th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party: Institutionalization of Succession Politics

  • Yongnian Zheng


The 16th Congress of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP), convened in Beijing on November 8–14, 2002, marked the first ever smooth and peaceful transition of power since the Party was founded more than 80 years ago. Neither Mao Zedong nor Deng Xiaoping, despite their impeccable revolutionary credentials, successfully transferred power to their chosen successors. The originally appointed successors, Lin Biao, Liu Shaoqi, Hu Yaobang, and Zhao Zhiyang, all fell by the wayside. The fact that Jiang Zemin, a technocrat whom detractors dismissed as no more than a mere seat-warmer in 1989, has presided over such an unprecedented transition is all the more significant, as Hu Jintao was not even Jiang’s preferred successor.


Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Chinese Communist Party Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Patient Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Outbreak Eastern Economic Review 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Weixing Chen and Yang Zhong 2005

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yongnian Zheng

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations