North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin. On 4 April 1949 the foreign ministers of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the UK and the USA signed the North Atlantic Treaty, establishing the North Atlantic Alliance. In 1952 Greece and Turkey acceded to the Treaty; in 1955 the Federal Republic of Germany; in 1982 Spain; in 1999 the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland; and in 2004 Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia, bringing the total to 26 member countries. The Alliance enables these countries to meet and co-operate in the field of security and defence.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Carr, F. and Infantis, K., NATO in the New European Order. London, 1996CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Cook, D., The Forging of an Alliance. London, 1989Google Scholar
  3. Heller, F. H. and Gillingham, J. R. (eds.) NATO: the Founding of the Atlantic Alliance and the Integration of Europe. London, 1992Google Scholar
  4. Smith, J. (ed.) The Origins of NATO. Exeter Univ. Press, 1990Google Scholar
  5. Williams, P., North Atlantic Treaty Organization [Bibliography]. Oxfordand New Brunswick (NJ), 1994Google Scholar
  6. Yost, David S., NATO Transformed: The Alliance’s New Roles in International Security. United States Institute for Peace, Washington, D.C., 1999Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations