• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Uruguay was the last colony settled by Spain in the Americas. Part of the Spanish viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata until revolutionaries expelled the Spanish in 1811 and subsequently a province of Brazil, Uruguay declared independence on 25 Aug. 1825. Confict between two political parties, the blancos (conservatives) and the colorados (liberals), led, in 1865–70, to the War of the Triple Alliance. In 1903 peace and prosperity were restored under President José Batlle y Ordóñez. Since 1904 Uruguay has been unique in her constitutional innovations, all designed to protect her from dictatorship. A favoured device was the collegiate system of government, in which the two largest political parties were represented.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. González, L. E., Political Structures and Democracy in Uruguay. Univ. of Notre Dame Press, 1992Google Scholar
  2. Sosnowski, S. (ed.) Repression, Exile and Democracy: Uruguayan Culture. Duke Univ. Press, 1993Google Scholar
  3. National library: Biblioteca Nacional del Uruguay, Guayabo 1793, Montevideo.Google Scholar
  4. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations