• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


In 1532 the Spaniards founded a colony in Ecuador, then called Quito. In 1821 a revolt led to the defeat of the Spaniards at Pichincha and thus independence from Spain. On 13 March 1830, Quito became the Republic of Ecuador. Political instability was endemic. From the mid-1930s, President José Maria Velasco Ibarra was deposed by military coups from four of his five presidencies.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Hidrobo, J. A., Power and Industrialization in Ecuador. Boulder (CO), 1993Google Scholar
  2. Martz, J. D., Politics and Petroleum in Ecuador. New Brunswick, 1987Google Scholar
  3. Pineo, R. F., Social and Economic Reform in Ecuador. Univ. Press of Florida, 1996Google Scholar
  4. Roos, W. and van Renterghem, O., Ecuador in Focus: A Guide to the People, Politics and Culture. Interlink Publishing Group, Northampton (MA), 1997CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. Selverston-Scher, M., Ethnopolitics in Ecuador: Indigenous Rights and the Strengthening of Democracy. Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2001Google Scholar
  6. National Statistical Office: Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Censos (INEC), Juan Larrea 534 y Riofrío, Quito.Google Scholar
  7. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations