Congo, Republic of The

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


First occupied by France in 1882, the Congo became a territory of French Equatorial Africa from 1910–58, and then a member state of the French Community. Between 1940 and 1944, thanks to Equatorial Africa’s allegiance to Gen. de Gaulle, he named Brazzaville the capital of the Empire and Liberated France. Independence was granted in 1960. A Marxist-Leninist state was introduced in 1970. Free elections were restored in 1992 but violence erupted when in June 1997 President Lissouba tried to disarm opposition militia ahead of a fresh election. There followed four months of civil war with fighting concentrated on Brazzaville which became a ghost town. In Oct. Gen. Sassou¬Nguesso proclaimed victory, having relied upon military support from Angola. President Lissouba went into hiding in Burkina Faso. A peace agreement signed in Nov. 1999 between President Sassou-Nguesso and the ‘Cocoye’ and ‘Ninja’ militias brought a period of relative stability.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Fegley, Randall, Congo. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1993Google Scholar
  2. Thompson, V. and Adloff, R., Historical Dictionary of the People’s Republic of the Congo. 2nd ed. Metuchen (NJ), 1984Google Scholar
  3. National Statistical Office: Centre National de la Statistique et des Etudes Economiques, BP 2031, Brazzaville. Website (French only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations