Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin. Also referred to as the Co-operation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (CCASG), the Council was established on 25 May 1981 on signature of the Charter by Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

Further Reading

  1. Twinam, J. W., The Gulf, Co-operation and the Council: an American Perspective. Washington, 1992Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations