Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


At the end of the 17th century the inhabitants of Zanzibar drove out the Portuguese with the assistance of the Arabs of Oman. In 1887 the Sultan of Zanzibar handed over the administration of his possessions to the north of Vanga on the African continent to the British East Africa Association. These territories eventually passed to the British government and are now part of Kenya. In 1888 a similar concession was granted to the German East Africa Association of the Sultan’s mainland territories between the River Umba and Cape Delgado. German East Africa was conquered by the Allies in the First World War and subsequently divided between the Belgians, the Portuguese and the British. The country was administered as a League of Nations mandate until 1946, and then as a UN trusteeship territory until 9 Dec. 1961.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Darch, C., Tanzania. [Bibliography] 2nd ed. ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1996Google Scholar
  2. National statistical office: National Bureau of Statistics, Box 796, Dar es Salaam.Google Scholar
  3. Website:

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2005

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations