Papua New Guinea

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Spanish first claimed the island in 1545 but the first attempt at colonization was made in 1793 by the British. The Dutch, however, claimed the west half of the island as part of the Dutch East Indies in 1828. On 6 Nov. 1884 a British Protectorate was proclaimed over the southern portion of the eastern half of New Guinea and in 1888 the territory was annexed. On 1 Sept. 1906 the Governor- General of Australia declared that British New Guinea was to be known henceforth as the Territory of Papua. The northern portion of New Guinea was a German colony until 1914 when Australian armed forces occupied it and it remained under their administration until becoming a League of Nations mandated territory in 1921, administered by Australia, and later a UN Trust Territory (of New Guinea). Australia granted Papua New Guinea self-government on 1 Dec. 1973, and on 16 Sept. 1975 Papua New Guinea became a fully independent state.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. National Statistical Office. Summary of Statistics. Annual.—Abstract of Statistics. Quarterly.— Economic Indicators. Google Scholar
  2. Monthly Bank of Papua New Guinea. Quarterly Economic Bulletin. Google Scholar
  3. Turner, A., Historical Dictionary of Papua New Guinea. Metuchen (NJ), 1995Google Scholar
  4. Waiko, J. D., Short History of Papua New Guinea. OUP, 1993Google Scholar
  5. National statistical office: National Statistical Office, PO Wards Strip. Website: Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations