El Salvador

República de El Salvador
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Conquered by Spain in 1526, El Salvador remained under Spanish rule until 1821. Thereafter, El Salvador was a member of the Central American Federation comprising the states of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica until this federation was dissolved in 1839. In 1841 El Salvador declared itself an independent republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Kufeld, A., El Salvador. NY, 1991Google Scholar
  2. Montgomery, T. S., Revolution in El Salvador: Origins and Evolution. Boulder (CO), 1982Google Scholar
  3. National statistical office: Dirección General de Estadística y Censos, Calle Arce, San Salvador.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations