Negara Brunei Darussalam— State of Brunei Darussalam
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Brunei became an independent Sultanate in the 15th century, controlling most of Borneo, its neighbouring islands and the Suhi Archipelago. By the end of the 16th century, however, the power of Brunei was on the wane. By the middle of the 19th century the State had been reduced to its present limits. Brunei became a British protectorate in 1888. The discovery of major oilfields in the western end of the State in the 1920s brought economic stability to Brunei and created a new style of life for the population. Brunei was occupied by the Japanese in 1941 and liberated by the Australians in 1945. Self-government was introduced in 1959 but Britain retained responsibility for foreign affairs. In 1965 constitutional changes were made which led to direct elections for a new Legislative Council. Full independence and sovereignty were gained in Jan. 1984.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Ministry of Finance Statistics Department. Brunei Darussalam Statistical Yearbook.Google Scholar
  2. Cleary, M. and Wong, S. Y., Oil, Economic Development and Diversification in Brunei. London, 1994CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Horton, A. V. M., A Critical Guide to Source Material Relating to Brunei with Special Reference to the British Residential Era, 1906–1959. Bordesley, 1995Google Scholar
  4. Saunders, G., History of Brunei. OUP, 1996Google Scholar
  5. National statistical office: Ministry of Finance Statistics Department.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations