East African Community

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The East African Community (EAC) was formally established on 30 Nov. 1999 with the signing in Arusha, Tanzania of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Treaty envisages the establishment of a Customs Union, as the entry point of the Community, a Common Market, subsequently a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States. The EAC partner states are aiming to sign a Protocol on the Establishment of the East African Customs Union by Nov. 2003.


Entry Point Development Policy International Business Economic Geography Official Language 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations