• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Vanuatu occupies the group of islands formerly known as the New Hebrides, in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. Captain Bligh and his companions, cast adrift by the Bounty mutineers, sailed through part of the island group in 1789. Sandalwood merchants and European missionaries came to the islands in the mid-19th century and were then followed by cotton planters—mostly French and British—in 1868. In response to Australian calls to annexe the islands, Britain and France agreed on joint supervision. Joint sovereignty was held over the indigenous Melanesian people but each nation retained responsibility for its own nationals according to a protocol of 1914. The island group escaped Japanese invasion during the Second World War and became an Allied base. On 30 July 1980 New Hebrides became an independent nation under the name of Vanuatu, meaning ‘Our Land Forever’.


Island Group Ally Base Fiji Island Main Export Automatic Telephone Exchange 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.
Ripablik blong Vanuatu (Republic of Vanuatu)


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Miles, W. F. S., Bridging Mental Boundaries in a Postcolonial Microcosm: Identity and Development in Vanuatu. University of Hawaii Press, 1998Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations