Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History and Membership. ASEAN is a regional intergovernmental organization formed by the governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand through the Bangkok Declaration which was signed by their foreign ministers on 8 Aug. 1967. Brunei joined in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999. Papua New Guinea also has observer status. In 1998 the combined GDP of member countries was estimated to be US$500,000m.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Broinowski, A., Understanding ASEAN. London, 1982.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. — (ed.) ASEAN into the 1990s. London, 1990Google Scholar
  3. Tran Van Hoa (ed.), Economic Developments and Prospects in the ASEAN. London, 1997Google Scholar
  4. Wawn, B., The Economics of the ASEAN Countries. London, 1982CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations