Nobel Peace Prize Winners: 1977–2001

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. A prize for Economics was added later. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other five prizes. The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec, the anniversary of Nobel’s death. The last 25 recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 10m. Sw. kr. in 2001, are:

2001 — the United Nations and Kofi Annan for a better organized and more peaceful world.

2000 — Kim Dae-jung for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular.

1999 — Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders) in recognition of the organization’s pioneering humanitarian work on several continents.

1998 — John Hume and David Trimble for their efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict in Northern Ireland.

1997 — ICBL (International Campaign to Ban Landmines) and Jody Williams for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines.

1996 — Carlos Felipe Ximenes Belo and José Ramos-Horta for their work towards a just and peaceful solution to the conflict in East Timor.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations