Nepal Adhirajya (Kingdom of Nepal)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Nepal is an independent Himalayan Kingdom located between India and the Tibetan region of China. From the 8th to the 11th centuries many Buddhists fled to Nepal from India, which had been invaded by Muslims. In the 18th century Nepal was a collection of small principalities (many of Rajput origin) and the three kingdoms of the Malla dynasty: Káthmandu, Pátan and Bhádgaon. In central Nepal lay the principality of Gurkha (or Gorkha); its ruler after 1742 was Prithvi Náráyan Sháh, who conquered the small neighbouring states. Fearing his ambitions, in 1767 the Mallas brought in forces lent by the British East India Company. In 1769 these forces were withdrawn and Gurkha was then able to conquer the Malla kingdoms and unite Nepal as one state with its capital at Káthmandu. In 1846 the Ráná family became the effective rulers of Nepal, establishing the office of prime minister as hereditary. In 1860 Nepal reached agreement with the British in India whereby Nepali independence was preserved and the recruitment of Gurkhas to the British army was sanctioned.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Central Bureau of Statistics. Statistical Pocket Book. [Various years]Google Scholar
  2. Borre, O. et al., Nepalese Political Behaviour. Aarhus Univ. Press, 1994Google Scholar
  3. Ghimire, K., Forest or Farm? The Politics of Poverty and Land Hunger in Nepal. OUP, 1993Google Scholar
  4. Sanwal, D. B., Social and Political History of Nepal. London, 1993Google Scholar
  5. National statistical office: Central Bureau of Statistics, National Planning Commission Secretariat, KáthmanduGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations